IWU trustees elect Szerlong as new board chair

Timothy Szerlong has served as a member of the Illinois Wesleyan Board of Trustees since 2011. (Photo Illinois Wesleyan University)


By Neil Doyle

BLOOMINGTON – The Illinois Wesleyan University Board of Trustees has elected Timothy Szerlong as Chairman of the board.

Szerlong, who lives in Lake Forest, has served as a trustee since 2011 and takes over for George Vinyard, who served as Board Chair for 14 years.

Szerlong graduated from IWU in 1974 with a bachelor’s degree in business administration and later completed the advanced management program at the Wharton School of business at the University of Pennsylvania.

He began his insurance career with the Chubb Coporation where he held various positions over 35 years. Szerlong retired from CNA Financial Corporation where he served as President, Worldwide Field Operations.

In addition, two new trustees were elected to three-year terms on the board:
• Danielle Kays ’01 of Bloomington, Illinois, a commercial litigation attorney in the Labor & Employment Department at the international law firm Seyfarth Shaw based out of Chicago. Kays joins the Board as a representative of the Alumni Association;
• Sundeep V. Mullangi ’97 of Chicago, Managing Director of PPM America, an investment management firm, in Chicago. Mullangi was elected as a trustee following a three-year term as a representative of the Alumni Association.

Trustees who were re-elected at the meeting included: Ceasar Douglas ’75, Vaughn Hoffman, John Horton ’82, Nancy J. Hutson ’71, Daniel E. Jameson ’80, W. Thomas Lawrence ’80, Kathy Larey Lewton ’70, Ann Marquis Fisher ’82, Thomas J. Neis ’70, Edward B. Rust, Jr. ’72, H ’94 and Robert K. Zimmermann ’71.

Neil Doyle can be reached at neil.doyle@cumulus.com


WJBC Voices: New name, new mascot

Several years ago, after the Politically Correct Athletic Association extorted the University of Illinois not to use any Native American symbols for its teams, I declared the name Fighting Illini meaningless…

WJBC Voices: Plus ca change…

No Neck and his Democratic buddies patted themselves on the back and told us how happy we should all be now that we have a “balanced” budget for the first time in years.

WJBC Voices: Bipartisan fixing the pothole

Now that the spring legislative session is over, it’s amazing to reflect all that was completed: a balanced budget, legalized cannabis and a long-overdue infrastructure bill to fix our roads and bridges.